Example Animation with Octave

An example I did to test some features of Octave and my Workstation’s performance. I used GNU Octave to generate the individual images. It took around 2 min on my box to create all images.

The code is quite simple and short and saved as ‘simple.m’:

x = -8:.2:8;
y = -8:.2:8;
[X,Y] = meshgrid(x,y);
R = sqrt(X.^2 + Y.^2) + eps;
i = 1;
for k = [-1:.05:1]
 Z = sin(k*2*pi)*sin(R)./R;
 fnprefix = "/home/zatoichi/Pictures/images/image";
 fnindex = num2str(i);
 fnext = ".jpg";
 filename = [fnprefix fnindex fnext];
 fig = surf(X,Y,Z);
 set (gca(),"Zlim",[-2.0, 2.0]);
 saveas(fig,filename);
 i = i+1;
endfor

This code generates 41 individual images like these (showing the first 4 only):


Now I take the 41 images and use StopMotion to create the animation video.

